What happens when you stop paying?

What happens when you stop paying loans? I have >300k with one of the big private ones (earnest / SoFi / Lending Tree / commonbond). I’m tired of working to the bone to pay more than mortgage.

What happens if I stop paying? I would default… but then what? They sue you? They garnish private wages? I get arrested?

3 Likes

I would love to know! I am $120 grand in student loan debt and I do not even make $50 grand per year. And I have been a teacher for8 years!

2 Likes

Hi angie ,

If you’re a public school teacher, and the loan is a public student loan, i would consider getting into the public service repayment program available through the federal govt. … if you are not a public school teacher, but a private school teacher, you should be able to get into the income based repayment program available though the federal govt. To do these, you have to consolidate your loans through federal direct loans.

I would not stop paying. Going into default is not a good idea. If you are having diffculty repaying , it is better to try and get a deferment or a forbearance.

What can happen by going into default depends on the laws of your state. I’ve heard of people having their wages garnished for going into default.

Hi Emily,
With private loans, it is different than public.
I would go to consumer credit counseling services (CCCS) and speak with a representative. Or, maybe get some advice from an attorney. Usually, there are free consultations.

1 Like

If we ALL stop, then what? Hashtag Just Default. :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Penalties include garnishment of wages, bank accounts, and future Federal tax returns until the debts are paid off. There’s ways around it - self-employment can prevent garnishment of wages, bug not of bank accounts, and making sure you don’t overpay on taxes so you aren’t owed refunds will prevent garnishment of those.