What does that Department of Education email about the Sweet v. DeVos settlement mean?

Hi everyone,

Since a ton of you have emailed me about this today I thought it would be easier to write a post here rather than try to reply to everyone individually.

First of all, I am not a lawyer. This is my laypersons understanding of what is going on.

If you want a much more detailed update about this case from actual lawyers, you can go here:

In a nutshell the Sweet v. DeVos was about forcing the Department of Education to actually start processing borrower defense claims, rather than just delaying delaying delaying indefinitely. This settlement achieved that goal. There is some good news and bad news. The good news is that because the Department of Education has now agreed to process the backlog of borrower defense applications, some people will finally get the justice they deserve and will get their debts discharged.

BUT there is some bad news too. Betsy DeVos is going to try to deny as many of these applications as she can get away with, even when people deserve full discharge under the law. So we will also see a wave of denials. It is possible that many of these denials will not stand up to future legal challenges. Those challenges will take a long time, but could not even get started until the Department of Education made some kind of initial decision. So even though it is bad news that people are getting denied, this settlement still advances the football down the field towards the goal of winning more discharges for more people in the future.

So what is this email all about? With any settlement like this everyone who is impacted has a chance to weigh in. This email is giving an explanation of what the settlement is and how to weigh in. You do not need to do anything in response to this email if you don’t want to.