Private student loan HELP

I am currently an immigration attorney in Baltimore, MD. My parents took out a private loan for me for my undergrad degree from a tiny credit union in Ohio. I was able to defer payments while I was in school, but as soon as I graduated (May2019) payments began and are $1600 a month. The credit union is not allowing me any more deferments until the loan is current and I cannot refinance because my credit score is poor (because I have defaulted on this loan). They are going after my grandmother, the co-signer, and threatening to take it to court and garnish wages if I don’t make account current (which is $6000 at this point). Any advice is welcome! I feel like I’ve tried everything.

3 Likes

Oh, boy!

Sadly, both you and grandmom are “on-the-hook” for this/these loan(s). This is why I never had a co-signer.

At this juncture, I would see if you can apply for a “deferment” or “forbearance” elsewhere (i.e directly through the “crooked Fed”). Deferments are always better than forbearances, however. For example, after being on certain types of deferments for at LEAST 20 years, the rest of your student loan debt is normally written-off. You’ll have to do some hefty research because the “student loan world” is far more crooked than this administration (and that’s saying A LOT!).

If you’re considering bankruptcy, do know that more often than not, student loans cannot be included. If by some miracle you ARE able to include your student loans, you may or may not have to claim that as “unearned income” on your taxes. Also, bankruptcy lasts on your public record for ten (10) years, so you’d really want to consider that as well.

I wish you and grandmom best of luck in this financial tragedy.

Can I apply for a forbearance / deferment through the Fed for a private loan?

1 Like

I THINK you can, but please don’t quote me. These are very murky waters. The whole student loan process isn’t very transparent at all; no matter what they might claim.