I am 60k in debt with federal student loans and don't know where to start

Hello, This is my first time posting here.

I have neglected to pay my student loans since 2010, when I graduated. There is no excuse, I simply neglected to pay when I was living outside of the country for the better part of of that time. I have been back in the U.S. for two years and now am back in the workforce.

I currently have about 60K in loans, half of that (if I am reading correctly) in interest.

I contacted studentaid.gov and they said my loans have been transferred to a company called Reliant Capital Solutions–a collection agency out of Ohio.

I did not speak to an actual person when I reached out via phone to StudentAid.gov, but instead entered my information on their phone menu and was told I would have to reach out to Reliant to figure out next steps and begin repayment.

My question is if this is the only option I have at this juncture. I have dug around on the fed website and looked at available options considering my situation but it seems I must start with Reliant. Does anyone have experience with this? Is there someone other than Reliant that I can speak with to explore the options available to me.

Lastly, does anyone know if I have options to reduce the amount the debt I owe? I hear that most of these consolidation companies are scammers.

I hope I have clearly explained my situation. Thank you in advance.

1 Like

Hi @Ty_Woo1, welcome!

It sounds like your loans are currently in default. One thing you can do right now is to reframe that default as being on strike and join our national student debt strike to win full cancellation and College For All: strike.debtcollective.org