Grad School Loans - Income Based Repayment Plan

I hope you are all well. As a bit of background, I was born and raised in Puerto Rico and went to college and law school in the States. I graduated from law school with approx. $140k in student loan debt (as most do) but I took a high-paying NYC law firm job and started to pay it immediately. Most of this debt was through federal funds, but I also had to take out a $25K private loan to cover the gap in need. A year out of law school in 2011, I consolidated my federal loans as that is what I was told I should do. This $117,000 consolidated loan has a 7.25% interest rate. I have paid over $56,000 (almost half the original loan amount) through the years but my balance as of early 2019 was approximately $114,000. Due to health reasons I moved back to Puerto Rico and because I no longer made a NYC salary I applied for an income-based repayment plan. As I went through this process I was baffled to learn that I’ve only managed to pay down $3,000 of my $117,000 loan – Even when I paid close to $900 a month religiously for over seven years. And when I had a high paying job I did all that I was supposed to do. But for health reasons I had to leave that behind and move back home, I had a career change, and I will not be able to afford to live if I had to make a $900 monthly payment just for (one of) my student loans. As I write this, my loan balance continues to grow because, while on an income based repayment plan my interest accrues and gets added to my balance. Soon I will owe more than I borrowed. I feel overwhelmed and don’t know what to do. I feel that I will never be able to pay this off. The loan servicer says the only other option I have is to demonstrate I am fully disabled. This keeps me up at night and i am unable to stop this from getting worse. It is oppressive.

1 Like

We need to organize to win full cancellation. This is the only realistic option available to us.