Another almost-drowning-in-debt story

Hello. I don’t have an easy, specific category for this topic; it’s just my own situation. I’m putting it out there for anyone who can relate and possibly even has advice, thoughts, ideas etc.

I graduated with an M.A. in sociology in 2005; I received a B.A. in psychology from the same state university in 1999. I took out loans, which I’ve long since consolidated (so now it’s just one, big, “low-interest” loan that has collected gobs and gobs of interest over the past 14+ years, since I unwisely took out unsubsidized loans along with the subsidized). I’ve managed to avoid default, and have had several years of deferments and forebearances; my balance exceeded 100k years ago. I’m on IBR and pay the minimum (when not in deferment, as I am now, or FB).

Paying off this balance in my lifetime is about as likely as President Trump becoming a literal Saint, or the deserts all freezing over at once. There is ust no F’ing way I’m paying it off. Ever. Let’s be real.

Recently I decided to pursue another M…A.; I’ve applied and been accepted for Fall 2020. Had I not taken out so much debt when I did, I probably would’ve done this years ago. I lost my 1st “real” job after graduation, a case-management job in which I got buried in cases and was forced to quit or be terminated 11 months into an 12-month probationary period. It was a crushing blow at the time; I drank heavily and contemplated suicide. I found a decent full-time job a year later, but then the economic crisis hit and I was one of many laid off (early 2009).