About the For Profit Colleges Collective

This is the place to talk about all things related to the borrower defense to repayment (DTR) process.

19 Likes

I’m a retired registered nurse on social security. I can no longer afford University of Phoenix student loan repayment. How do I begin?

2 Likes

I have a Loan with them also. I am unable to make the regular payment so I applied for an IBR but the loan amount doesn’t seem to go down…

I attended a for profit school in CT called Briarwood College which was bought by Lincoln Education. I attended for 3 semesters and withdrew because of, at the time ongoing, alcohol addiction (sober 5 years now). I have 5 loans in default being services by the Department of Education. The total with interest is around $12,000. After all of the things I have been through I feel responsible to repay, my default setting at this point in my life is that I put myself in this mess by drinking for 10years and if I have to spend that long getting back on track I guess I deserve it. That being said I am trying to change my thinking and accept that I need help and that’s why I am here!

2 Likes

Hi @Jack_Moriarty, sending you all the love and support possible as you deal with alcohol addiction.

For-profit universities shouldn’t exist, and neither should student debt of any kind. If you haven’t already filed a borrower defense to repayment I recommend you do so here:
https://borrowerdischarge.ed.gov/s/?language=en_US

3 Likes

Thanks for kind wishes and information! My addiction is one part of my life I feel I have control of at this time! I have a question regarding borrower discharge is that all of this happened a while ago (09?) Because of that and my drinking at the time I have little documentation (although I have some) and little memory as to what was said or promised to me. Can I still have success with this process?

1 Like