Introduce yourself

This is a place for newcomers to say hello, and for the rest of us to serve as a welcoming committee. Tell us a little bit about yourself, share your debt story, ask your questions, and get plugged in.

4 Likes

Hello! My name is Alex Bennett and I am a graphic designer and artist working in the Seattle area. I have a BFA in studio art and an MFA in digital art. Unfortunately, my debt for these 2 degrees is 100k+ and growing. If I were to go back into regular repayment, I’d be expected to pay upwards of a grand a month even on an IDR plan. I just finished grad school in 2017 and had about 2 years worth of contract work then COVID hit. I’m currently mostly unemployed, and working minimal part time as a public school visiting artist. I haven’t landed full time work since I left school and have no way of meeting my expected payments. I recently listened to a Haymarket Books talk with Astra Taylor and decided I wanted to join this community. Happy to be here and join the debt fight.

11 Likes

Hi there @jadefalcon3 I am in the Seattle area too. Nice to meet you. My name is @Dawn_L and I am a Striker. glad you are here. Do you want to have a call to meet and talk about the student debt campaign a bit?

3 Likes

Hello! My name is Arlene, I’m in the DC area. I heard about the Debt Collective from a panel or talk hosted by Haymarket! My boyfriend saw it first and he sent it to me; blew my mind. We bought the book and I’m reading through it now. I have student and credit card debt. I believe I have close to $60,000 in student debt from getting my Bachelor’s degree. Some of it is federal, some private. Very excited to join the union and help folks get out of the bind of debt.

8 Likes

Wall Street is making money off student loans & controlling debtors by having a grip on credit scores. Do not wait for politicians to solve this problem. Trump in 2016 promised to fix it and didn’t. Do not expect more from Biden.